Untitled Document
CMHL Award Winners

Untitled Document
Today's Games - 5
- 2
- 4
- 2
- 5
- 2
- 6
- 4

Untitled Document

Player Search

(Advanced Search)
CMHL Season 7 Award Winners Announced Written by habsfan93 - July 26th, 2011

The CMHL Awards were announced today in grand style as the players, coaches and GM's convened at CMHL Headquarters for the ceremony.

Find out who won, who didn't and who should have!

After posting one of the best seasons in CMHL history, the Anaheim Ducks were the big winners on the evening, most notably franchise defenceman Shae Weber, who took home the Norris Trophy and the Lester B. Pearson Award. Weber was without a doubt the most dominant defenceman in the CMHL in Season 7, and this was recognized by the GM's of the league. Weber took home 21 of a possible 28 votes for the Norris Trophy, and narrowly beat offensive superstar Dany Heatley by just one vote for the Pearson Award, which is given out to the best player in the CMHL as deemed solely by the GMs of the league. Weber only narrowly missed winning the Norris last year, when he was defeated by Detroit's Mike Green with only vote separating the two.

Sticking with the Ducks, Niklas Backstrom took home his first Vezina Trophy with 19 out of a possible 28 votes. Backstrom has been in the Vezina running for several straight years now, and the league finally rewarded him for what has been his best season so far.

Backstrom almost made headlines by being the first goalie in CMHL history to win the Vezina and Hart trophies, but he was just narrowly beat out by Montreal Canadiens forward Patrick Marleau. Marleau was the undeniable leader on a Canadiens team that many had predicted at the start of Season 7 might miss the playoffs, and as a result, the GMs awarded Marleau the Hart Trophy as the league's Most Valuable Player. The final tally was 11 votes for Marleau to Backstrom's 10. Jarome Iginla of Edmonton received 7 votes.

Getting back to the Ducks, Shawn Horcoff capped off another terrific season by taking home the Selke Trophy as the league's best defensive forward, snagging 14 of a possible 28 votes.

And to cap it all off, GM quackquack was awarded the Jack Adams Trophy as GM of the Year, receiving 17 of a possible 28 votes. Quite a season for the Ducks, one I'm sure they will never forget, and hopefully all these awards will alleviate some of the sting from their heartbreaking Stanley Cup Finals loss to the Lightning.

In other awards, the Calder Trophy for Rookie of the Year was awarded to Tyler Myers of the Edmonton Oilers in a very close vote. Myers is the first defenceman in CMHL history to win the Calder. He narrowly edged out Toronto Maple Leafs forward Jeff Skinner by two votes, a final tally of 12 to 10. Myers' teammate Matt Duchene received 6 votes.

Martin St. Louis of the Buffalo Sabres took home the Lady Byng Award as the league's most sportsmanlike player in another narrow defeat. He recorded 13 votes while Nicklas Backstrom of the Vancouver Canucks was the runner-up with 12 votes.  

And finally, in a total landslide, Miikka Kiprusoff of the Tampa Bay Lightning was rewarded with the Conn Smythe Trophy for the 2nd time in his career as the best player of the playoffs. Kiprusoff received 25 of the 28 possible votes, with Jonathan Toews receiving the remaining three votes.

Moving on to the GM awards, the Kookaranian Award for Trading Ability was awarded to New York Islanders GM Moll, who received 16 of a possible 28 votes. Stanley Cup winning GM lightningbolt was the runner-up with 9 votes, while surprise candidate habsfan93 received 3 votes.

The Grizzlygoalie Award for Decision-Making Ability was awarded to Nashville Predators GM Jay, who received 13 of a possible 28 votes. EDM GM Oilerfan and MTL GM powwow evenly split the remainder of the votes.

Speaking of Jay, the Jay Award for Passion and Intensity was awarded to Buffalo Sabres GM koopaclassic in an intensely tight 3 way race (no pun intended). koopa received 10 of the 28 votes, while TB GM lightningbolt and PHX GM Gerv each received 9 votes.

The AsmodeanReborn Award for League Activity and Presence was given to Ottawa Senators GM Gerg, who received 15 of the possible 28 votes. Tampa Bay GM lightningbolt came up in 2nd place, followed by CGY GM Luke

And finally, speaking of the devil, the M3 Award for Submitting Lines was awarded to Calgary Flames GM Luke, well deserved for a man who was criss-crossing the globe at times this season and never missed an opportunity to get his lines in. Others recognized with votes were AsmodeanReborn, Gerv, Jay, koopaclassic, lightningbolt, Moll and Stajanfan.


To wrap things up, the ICHF Awards were given out with relatively little in the way of surprises.

For the second year in a row, a defenceman took home the Hart and Norris Trophies, this time both going to Anders Eriksson of the St. Louis Blues. Eriksson received 18 of the 28 Hart Trophy votes, and a whopping 25 of the 28 Norris Trophy votes.

Another veteran, Brian Boucher of the now defunct Atlanta Thrashers received 16 of 28 votes to take home the Vezina Trophy.

James van Riemsdyk of the Vancouver Canucks received the Lady Byng Award with 20 of 28 votes.

Peter Mannino, goaltender of the ICHF Cup Winning New York Islanders was awarded the Conn Smythe Trophy with 17 of 28 votes.

And finally, GM hgimn of the Detroit Red Wings was named ICHF GM of the Year for the second year in a row with 22 of the 28 votes.


Congratulations to all the winners!!

Submit A Comment -

CMHL © 2004-2013
Logos designed by and used with permission of Icethetics
This site is best viewed at resolutions of 1024x768 or bigger, and has been designed for best use in Mozilla Firefox.