Untitled Document
CMHL Award Winners

Untitled Document
Today's Games - 5
- 2
- 4
- 2
- 5
- 2
- 6
- 4

Untitled Document

Player Search

(Advanced Search)
CMHL Season 8 Award Winners Announced! Written by habsfan93 - July 3rd, 2012

The CMHL Awards were announced today in grand style as the players, coaches and GM's convened at CMHL Headquarters for the ceremony. It was a big day for the Western Conference and specifically the Central and Northwest Divisions, as all but one major CMHL player award went to a player in those two divisions.

Find out who won, who didn't and who should have!

Ryan Kesler (pictured right) of the Vancouver Canucks was a triple winner for the day, receiving both the Selke Trophy as the league's best defensive forward and the Lester B. Pearson Award, given to the league's best player as determined solely by the league's GMs. Kesler received 20 of 28 votes for the Selke, and beat teammate Corey Perry by only two votes to win the Pearson Award. Those trophies will go nicely with the Maurice Rocket Richard Award that Kesler already won as the league's top goal scorer for the season.

Though he's currently fighting for survival in the Stanley Cup Finals, Steven Stamkos has one reason to celebrate regardless of the outcome, as he was named the winner of the CMHL Hart Trophy awarded to the League's Most Valuable Player. Stamkos finished 4th in league scoring, and was the undisputed leader of a St. Louis Blues team that made the playoffs for the first time in 6 years. He finished the season with 26 points more than any other skater on the Blues roster. Stamkos received 14 of a possible 28 votes, beating out runner-up Rick Nash by 5 votes.

Staying in the Central Division, Brian Campbell of the Chicago Blackhawks beat out Stamkos' teammate Dustin Byfuglien to win the Norris Trophy awarded to the league's best defenceman. Campbell, who was among the league leaders in virtually all offensive categories amongst defencemen, was the clear cut winner, receiving 17 of a possible 28 votes.

In one of the most unanimous decisions on the awards ballot, Craig Anderson of the Edmonton Oilers was awarded the Vezina Trophy for the league's best goaltender. Anderson received 24 of a possible 28 votes, in response to a season that drew no real competitors. Anderson led the CMHL in GAA, Save % and shutouts, and was 2nd overall in wins, playing for a team that won the Western Conference title, no doubt much to Anderson's credit.

Moving from a hands down selection to one of the closest votes on the awards ballot, Logan Couture of the Florida Panthers was awarded the Calder Trophy for the league's best rookie, beating out Boston Bruins netminder Corey Crawford by only one vote. Couture received 14 of a possible 28 votes, while Crawford received 13, as GMs chose to reward offensive skill over netminding.

The final member of the wickedly offensive Vancouver trio, Nicklas Backstrom, didn't get the same kind of support as his teammates, as the Lady Byng Trophy was awarded to Alexander Semin of the Chicago Blackhawks. The vote was tight though - Semin received only 12 of 28 votes, with Backstrom and Sturm evenly splitting the remainder at 8 apiece.

Other CMHL player awards that were already handed out:

- Corey Perry (pictured left) of the Vancouver Canucks was awarded the Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in scoring.

- Kari Lehtonen of the Calgary Flames was awarded the William M. Jennings Award for his league best goals against numbers.


Moving on to the ICHF player awards, it was a big day for a big goalie. Devan Dubnyk, of the Toronto Maple Leafs was awarded both the Hart and Vezina Trophies. Dubnyk becomes the first goalie in ICHF history to win the Hart Trophy, and the first player in CMHL and ICHF history to be awarded both the Hart and the Vezina in the same year. To top it off, both awards were won with authority. Dubnyk received 20 of a possible 28 votes for the Hart, and 25 of 28 for the Vezina. A terrific reward for an absolutely stellar season!

Voters weren't so kind to Toronto's defencemen though, giving most of the credit to Dubnyk it appears, as John-Michael Liles of the New Jersey Devils won the Norris Trophy, beating out Michael Del Zotto and Jamie McBain, both of the Maple Leafs. Liles received 19 of a possible 28 votes.

Pierre-Marc Bouchard of the Winnipeg Jets had no troubles winning the Lady Byng Trophy, receiving 25 of a possible 28 votes.

And for the first year ever, a Selke Trophy was awarded for the ICHF. The inaugural winner is Rich Peverley of the Anaheim Ducks. Peverley received 22 of a possible 28 votes.


Finally, the awards all the GMs really care about ;) - the GM Awards!

Firstly, the CMHL Jack Adams Trophy for GM of the Year was a very, very tight race between the two GMs currently fighting for the CMHL Stanley Cup. In the end, St. Louis Blues GM Brian was named the winner, taking the award by a one vote margin over Tampa Bay Lightning GM Dave (aka lightningbolt).

In the lower league, it was less of a race, as Toronto Maple Leafs GM Aaron (aka Stajanfan) was announced as the winner of the ICHF Jack Adams Trophy for GM of the Year, following a season in which he won the President's Trophy. Aaron received 23 of a possible 28 votes.

For the second year in a row, the AsmodeanReborn Award for League Presence and Activity was awarded to Ottawa Senators GM Greg (aka Gerg/Bryan Murray). Greg received 17 of a possible 28 votes. Boston GM Gino was the runner-up with 6 votes, followed by Columbus GM habsfan93.

In another show of continued support, the M3 Award for Dedication to Submitting Lines was given, for the second straight year, to Calgary Flames GM Luke. The runner-up was Ottawa GM Greg, followed by the GMs of Columbus, Boston and Winnipeg.

Greg and Luke weren't the only GMs receiving a second straight award. The Kookaranian Award for Trading Ability was awarded, once again, to New York Islanders GM Moll. Moll received 19 of a possible 28 votes. The runner-up, with 6 votes, was Florida GM chriscmb followed by Minnesota GM Matsson.

Finally, the GMs decided to throw a couple of new winners into the pool. The GrizzlyGoalie Award for Decision Making Ability was awarded to Washington GM Marty, who received 14 of a possible 28 votes. Vancouver GM Canucks was a close runner-up with 12 votes.

And lastly, in a well-deserved award, the Jay Award for Passion and Intensity was awarded to Colorado GM sentinel20, who received 15 of a possible 28 votes. Florida GM chriscmb was the runner-up with 10 votes.


Congratulations to all the winners on an incredible season!!!

Submit A Comment -

CMHL © 2004-2013
Logos designed by and used with permission of Icethetics
This site is best viewed at resolutions of 1024x768 or bigger, and has been designed for best use in Mozilla Firefox.